Deleting a logical unit number (LUN) permanently deletes all data on all volumes on the LUN. This operation cannot be undone. Make sure that you have shut down all applications that access the LUN.

Membership in the local Administrators group, or equivalent, is the minimum required to complete this procedure. Review details about using the appropriate accounts and group memberships at

To delete a LUN
  1. In the console tree, click LUN Management.

  2. In the Results pane, select the LUN you want to delete.

  3. In the Actions pane, click Delete LUN.

  4. Select Check here if you want to delete this LUN, and then click OK.

Additional considerations

  • If you want to temporarily make a LUN invisible to a server or cluster but retain the data stored in the LUN, you can unassign the LUN instead of deleting it. (In LUN Management, select the LUN that you want to unassign. Then, in the Actions pane, click Unassign LUN.) You will be able to assign the LUN again at a later date to access the data.

Additional references