To keep protected information secure, after a password is reset on a local user account, some types of information are no longer accessible, including the following:
- E-mail that is encrypted with the user's
- Internet passwords that are saved on the
- Files that the user has encrypted
If you want to avoid this type of data loss, do not reset a user's password. When you create a new local user account, have the user create a password reset disk. Then, if the user forgets the password, the password reset disk can be used to reset the password without data loss. If a user forgets the password to a domain user account, the password must be reset manually.
For more information about what you should know before you reset a password, search Help and Support for the topic "What are the risks of resetting a password?"