You can delete a certificate template when you no longer want it to be available for use. When you delete a certificate template, certificates based on the template can no longer be issued. If you are using enterprise certification authorities (CAs), this will affect all CAs in a forest. Certificate templates cannot be recovered once they are deleted.
Membership in Domain Admins or Enterprise Admins, or equivalent, is the minimum required to complete this procedure. For more information, see Implement Role-Based Administration.
|To delete a certificate template|
Open the Certificate Templates snap-in.
Right-click the template you want to delete, and then click Delete.
Click Yes to confirm that you want to delete the template.