[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Use the BITS Uploads page to customize BITS IIS Server Extension settings for a specific virtual directory. You can configure file size limitations, notifications, cleanup frequency, and server farm support.

Upload Job Settings

The settings in this section allow you to configure the maximum size of uploaded files, determine when incomplete jobs are deleted, and allow existing files to be overwritten by an upload job.

User interface name Description

Maximum file size

Defines the maximum size of a file that can be uploaded in a single BITS Server job. By default, there is no maximum file size.

Delete incomplete jobs after

Defines how long BITS Server will wait until cleaning up incomplete upload files. The time-out is checked every time that the cleanup process is scheduled to run. Use the options in the Cleanup section to configure the frequency with which the cleanup process should be run for this virtual directory.

Allow files to be overwritten

This setting defines whether BITS Upload server lets existing files be overwritten in the virtual directory. This setting is disabled by default.This prevents unauthorized users from overwriting legitimately uploaded files by uploading a file that has the same name. Attempts to overwrite a file result in the second upload job failing. When two upload jobs have the same destination file name, the second upload job fails, even if an overwriting attempt is unintentional. If you enable this setting, you let files be overwritten.

Be aware that by enabling this setting, BITS Upload server still cannot write to files outside the virtual directory, and unauthorized users cannot overwrite the system’s files using BITS Upload server.

Notifications

By enabling notifications, you can configure BITS Server to send a notification by way of an HTTP POST to a URL you specify when a file is uploaded to the virtual directory.

User interface name Description

Enable notifications

Enables notifications for this virtual directory. The Notification type and Notification URL settings are both required if this setting is enabled.

Notification type

Configures the kind of notification to perform after the job is finished.

  • Send the file name: The server passes the path of the completed upload file to the URL that is specified by the Notification URL setting. The server may return a file to the client as a response.

  • Send the file contents: The server passes the completed upload file to the URL that is specified by the Notification URL as the entity body of the HTTP POST. The response entity is sent to the client.

Notification URL

Specifies the URL to which you want to pass the completed upload file by using an HTTP POST request if the Notification type is Send the file contents or Send the file name. The URL may be absolute or relative. If the URL is relative, then the original request URL is used as the base.

Cleanup

BITS Server checks for and deletes incomplete upload jobs that have timed out. If an upload exceeds the default setting of 12 hours, or the value you specify in the Scan for incomplete jobs every setting, BITS Server automatically cancels the upload and deletes any partial file contents. This setting is not affected by IIS property inheritance and applies only to the virtual directory.

User interface name Description

Use default cleanup schedule

Configures BITS Server to scan for incomplete uploads older than 12 hours. If an incomplete upload exceeds this setting, BITS Server automatically cancels the upload and deletes any partial file contents at the time you specify in the Delete incomplete jobs after setting.

Use custom cleanup schedule

Configures BITS Server to scan and delete at the interval you specify.

Scan for incomplete jobs every

Configures BITS Server to scan for incomplete uploads older than the interval you specify. If an incomplete upload exceeds this setting, BITS Server automatically cancels the upload and deletes any partial file contents at the time you specify in the Delete incomplete jobs after setting.

Enable cleanup to limit the number of sessions per user

Configures BITS Server to remove jobs uploaded by a user that exceed the value specified in Limit on the number of sessions per user.

Limit on the number of sessions per user

Specifies how many active upload jobs a user may submit to the BITS Server.

Note

You can manually run a cleanup task by clicking Run Cleanup from IIS Manager Actions pane. This immediately starts a check for files that have had no progress since the time-out period. To remove all incomplete files for this virtual directory, set the Delete incomplete jobs after setting to 0 before you run the cleanup.

Server Farm Support

If it is enabled, this setting informs the client to try to reconnect to the same server instead of the original upload URL that was used by the client. This lets clients that are uploading to server farms to continue uploading to the same server where the upload started.

Server farms can be configured in one of two ways:

  1. By using a shared volume for the upload virtual directory

  2. By using server local storage for the uploaded files

If you want to use local storage, then this option will enable the client to reconnect to the same server computer in the server farm. We recommend that you enable and then configure this feature before you upload to server farms and use local storage.

User interface name Description

Enable server farm support

Enables BITS Server uploads support for server farms.

Reconnect to server

Specifies the public IP address to use for reconnecting to this server. A common configuration for a server will have two IP addresses: one that is outward pointing and that is reachable by client systems, and one that is part of the inner (protected) network. Specify the outward-pointing IP address here.

Note

You can specify a DNS name here only if each computer in your Web farm has an independent DNS name that is resolvable by the client computers.

Use original server after

If a client cannot reconnect to the server at the Reconnect to server for this period of time, then the clients will revert to the original DNS name they specified in the upload URL.

See Also


[an error occurred while processing this directive]